Dropping the facade…

My hair is falling out.

And not at the normal, regenerative pace.

In October of 2022, I had emergency surgery.  One day I was fine and the next day I was not.  In fact, I remember clearly that night in the ER, the surgeon telling my husband and I that I may not survive the surgery.  The next three weeks were a blur.  After surgery, I was kept for recovery and rehabilitation for nearly three weeks.  I had a 15-inch incision, which require a wound vac (if you’ve never heard of a wound vac- I hadn’t- they are no fun!).  But through all of this, I maintained my sense of optimism.  I told myself that I was strong and that I could get through anything! 

Two weeks ago in the shower, now mostly healed, my hair began to come out in clumps.  I felt panicked inside.  I was shaking.  There were lots of tears.  I called my husband, and he held me for a long time.  I’ve learned that this condition is called telogen effluvium and it is the result of being under general anesthesia.  Long-term antibiotics don’t help either. 

I have a lot to be grateful for in this life.  But there is a big part of me that feels like this is not fair!  Not my hair!  For me, so much of how I perceive my own attractiveness is tied up in my beautiful, thick, long dark hair.  My hair is part of my femininity.  My hair is part of my identity as a person.

I am in week #3 of losing my hair.  I have a small bald spot on the back of my head which isn’t too noticeable yet.  I’d guess that about a third of my hair has fallen out.  Every time I run my fingers through my hair, more comes out.  My hair is everywhere but on my head.

I am feeling sorry for myself.  I know that others have it worse and that I should be grateful that there is a darn good chance that my hair will eventually (over the next few years) restore itself…but for now, I am going to mourn my hair a bit.  Life has been hard lately, and this feels like the straw that broke the camel’s back. 

Thank you for not judging my pity party too harshly.  I’ll try not to let myself stay stuck here long, but sometimes, you’ve gotta just let yourself feel.  Goodbye, my beautiful hair.     

If you are needing a musical pick me up, like I was, here is a little ditty from the 80’s to make you smile.

The sun WILL come out tomorrow!

Finding my sparkle,

Grace

19 thoughts on “Dropping the facade…

Add yours

  1. I’m so sorry you’re going through all this! The good thing is that you got through the surgery. Hopefully the hair that’s falling is a phase and will grow back once the toxins are no longer there. Hang in there.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Ah Grace, you reach a point where you think…’at last, I’m over it all, I’ve been through a horrendous year but finally I’m going past it’…and then something else comes along to join the party. My heart goes out to you dear lady, of all things to go it is a part of who you are. And I know it all right for me to say this, I’m a male ( I think), …but mine went splat, totally grey in the stress of divorce and most fell out in 5 years at 40. so in total disgust I shaved it all off…and couldn’t believe it…I loved it, and its been that way ever since. The saving in shampoo, hair cuts and time in getting ready for something are amazing. Again, its ok for me to say that, it isn’t a focus for us males, you guys spend countless years keeping it a true part of what you are, that femininity in heart and mind. So my heart goes out to you Grace, life does seem to truly give us such a hard path. I send you love, light and much energy that it is only a brief wobble and she comes back with a vengeance, a great love, a wave of growth to reinforce who is in your heart and set you free ❤️🙏🏽

    Liked by 2 people

    1. You are incredibly insightful, Mark. I’ll admit…it has crossed my mind to just shave it off and be done with it, but I’m not sure that is something that I can bring myself to do. I am hopeful that the progression will slow, though my research indicates this could last up to six months. Crossing my fingers it doesn’t. Thank you for your support, my friend. Sending much love your way. 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Persevere for that 6 or 8 months to see if it responds, if the picture in your icon is any indication it took a little while to grow it that long. Then step out into the new world and cut it short with a scarf wear type arrangement, and if your not fussed with that go the full hog and create what I call my kamikaze mosquito aerodrome, with the spiky grow back even they dare not land on it. And you will be surprised, people love to run their hands over it, it has some secret wish in them that they would love to do but don’t dare 🤣❤️🙏🏽

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Thank you, Mark! While I don’t post actual pictures of myself online, this is a good representation of what my hair has always looked like. I will do my best to embrace this change and handle this situation gracefully. And if all else fails, I’ll rock the GI Jane look 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  3. Grace, it’s great news that you’ve survived and recovering from an emergency surgery in October. Losing your hair seems like a small price to pay, but I can totally relate to its impact on who we are, especially as women. Sending you a big hug to getting through this ❤

    Liked by 2 people

    1. You are right, Rosaliene… I suppose it is a small price to pay. I was looking at it wrong and thinking…after all I went through, now this too? It feels hard though. Hopefully I will handle this with as much grace as possible. Thank you for the supportive comment ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Damn, that sucks. I’m so sorry, Grace! We’ve been watching Rapunzel lately – no doubt there is a lot of story in hair and it matters. Sending a huge heart hug to you for all this means that you’ve gone through and that you’ll one day weave it into meaning. But for now, just wishing for you that it stops!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. First, let me say I’m sorry this is happening. On top of everything else, it seems really unfair. Don’t feel like you’re pitying yourself. Of course someone has it worse, someone always has it worse, but that doesn’t mean you’re not getting a raw deal. When I read this post earlier, I was actually sitting in a doctor’s office with tears in my eyes worried that I was entering a panic attack and saying the same things to myself “Buck up, Jeff, lots of people have bigger problems than you do.” We all need to give ourselves a break and let us sooth ourselves any way we can. Suffering isn’t a contest, no one has to win.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That is a very wise reflection, Jeff…suffering is not a contest. Thank you for this empathetic comment, it helps to have this reflected back. It sounds like you are going through something major too… I hope you are okay ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m very sorry that you are dealing with this, Grace. I can only imagine how this feels after going through an unexpected and traumatic surgery. Sending you lots of healing wishes.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Thank you for sharing!!.. sorry that you had to endure the ordeal, but glad that you are on the mend… it is human nature to be upset about circumstances for a time, but how we move on is what matters and patience is required and once the body has healed and the medication has been removed, perhaps the hair will return better than before .. and maybe this gives you an opportunity to reboot.. 🙂

    I believe there is a saying “it is not the image without, but the beauty within that matters” and I believe that Marilyn Monroe once said “sometimes good things fall apart so better things fall together”…. 🙂

    Don’t raise the white flag, follow your heart, hope your path of life is paved with love and happiness and until we meet again..
    May your day be touched
    by a bit of Irish luck,
    Brightened by a song
    in your heart,
    And warmed by the smiles
    of people you love.
    (Irish Saying)

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Sometimes, enough is enough. Everyone has a limit of what they can endure and maintain their composure. You were already facing a terrifying situation when suddenly you were facing another one of your own. You survived it, endured a lengthy recuperation, and just as it looked as if you might be turning a corner, THIS happens. Losing your hair is relatively minor compared the what you have been faced with, but I imagine it feels like a slap in the face, just as you begin to see a glimmer of hope. But you have been showing an impressive reserve of inner strength for some time, now. You will be upset. You will grieve this situation. You will then gather your resolve, soldier on, and face your challenges just as you have been. Why? Because you CAN. Not everyone can do that, but you can. For some time, I have been telling you that you are special. The truth of that statement has never been more obvious than it is at this moment. Somehow, somewhere, you were given inordinate fortitude. Perhaps this is why.
    I wish you peace.

    Like

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started